Facebook past likely to haunt you? – Read on…..
You don’t unload your whole past life on someone you just met, it takes time and trust to develop relationships, so having the ability to partition off elements of your Facebook life using the new Archive feature has got to be a good thing…right?
Basically, the archive feature is for content you no longer want others to see on Facebook, but that you still want to keep for yourself. For example, you could archive a photo of you at a music festival that you still find amusing but that you’d rather not be seen by anyone else on Facebook. (I can’t imagine what that would be!)
Manage Activity also allows you to move posts you no longer want to the trash. Posts sent to the trash will stay there for 30 days before being deleted unless you choose to manually delete or restore them before then. This gives you some wiggle room in case you change your mind about deleting old posts.
And to make it simpler to manage lots of posts at once, Manage Activity lets you view and manage your posts in bulk. Facebook have also developed filters to help you sort and find what you’re looking for, like posts with specific people or from a specific date range.
As with all new Facebook functionality, there will be a staged rollout, both geographically and access driven. It will launch first on mobile and Facebook Lite, with the desktop version to follow in due course.
People’s lives change – you are probably not the same person you were at university, you now have a professional career, you are now a responsible parent looking to set a good example to the kids – all of these things can be impacted on by drunken posts, changed beliefs, photos of having way too much fun and showing way tooooo much flesh at Glastonbury!
So to make it easy for you to curate your online presence to more accurately reflect who you are today Facebook are rolling out the Manage Activity function to help you archive or trash old posts, all in one place.
How it works is all explained in the video